S Jaishankar

External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar and Trinamool Congress leader Derek O’Brien were among 11 Rajya Sabha candidates elected unopposed from three states on Monday.

Apart from Jaishankar, three BJP candidates – Babu Desai and Kesaridevsinh Jhala – were elected unopposed from Gujarat, while O’Brien was one of six TMC candidates elected from West Bengal.

Jaishankar has won the Rajya Sabha elections from Gujarat for the second time in a row. Desai and Jhala have been elected to Parliament’s Upper House for the first time.